Expecting Quality Content from Christian Writers

Distracted is an appropriate description for me this month of December for I really find it hard to concentrate writing articles for this site. I have two topics in mind, which I find interesting, but I could not push myself to start writing. These are about the approaching events on January 1, 2013 and comparison between Obama’s victory speech and Ron Paul’s farewell speech from US Congress.  I have eight days more to write about the first topic. I think the second topic can wait.

I prefer trolling instead of writing, that’s my struggle. And then suddenly, while trolling on the net I just bumped one thread forum about RH bill. I had exchanges of ideas with the initiator until discussing about the topic in economic terms. At the middle of the discussion, the thread initiator shared to me a link to a Christian website about economics and business.

After reading a dozen of articles from that website, I felt dissatisfied with the shallowness of the content. Such dissatisfaction afflicts me every time I read economic and financial articles from Christian sources. There are exceptions of course. North is one of them.

Most of the writers I encountered are simply promoting their books. It appears to me that these writers are unaware that anyone could access content far superior and more accurate at no cost.

Comparing the content of Ludwig von Mises and LewRockwell with Seven Mountains and Center for Christian Business Ethics Today, I could not control my dissatisfaction, and that’s why I am writing this article. I think these latter sites could have improved their “theologizing” if they would just devote some time learning first the Austrian school of economics.

Those who want to see an example of great discrepancy in quality of content, why not try reading “God and the Financial Crisis” and compare it to any related article from either Ludwig von Mises or LewRockwell. Or try watching videos by Wayne Grudem and David Cowan. Then compare them to “Fight of the Centuries” and “Fear the Boom and Bust”.

Despite my unfairness in my comparison and my failure to see the differences in context of the two types of content, I am still craving for solid information coming from Christian writers. How I wish that the “authority” in Christian circles should stop their half-baked analysis and start thinking hard about global finance and economy.  Why not start learning the Austrian school of economics?

Leave a Reply

